Google Analytics in my Apache log file

Posted on

While debuging my topic mining web service I came across a strange error message in the Apache error log (/var/log/apache2/error.log):

[Wed Nov 23 15:31:58 2011] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /var/www/ga.js, referer: http://twitter.com/

So Twitter is using Google Analytics on my Web server…? Are
they spying?

Initially I found Google not to report much on this issue. One noted
something about proxy. However searching broader I found one comment stating “Hey…! I Found the solutions…. […] a host file […]”. I then suddenly came to remember that I added a line to the host file (/etc/hosts):

127.0.0.1 http://www.google-analytics.com

I put that line in to avoid Google, Twitter and all the rest that uses
Google Analytics not to data mine/spy too much on my browsing habits. It
redirects Google Analytics request to my own computer. It also means
that when Twitter reports that they have 100 million active users they are actually wrong. It should be 100000001 active users.

Leave a Reply

